Until the Crimean War of 1854-56 Esquimalt Harbour was regularly visited by British warships, but there was no land establishment. During the Crimean War some hospital facilities were built after failed attacks on Petropavlovsk and the Kamchatka Peninsular. This was followed in 1858 with the Fraser River Gold Rush which saw a huge in prospectors, mainly from the USA. Royal Marine Infantry were landed on San Juan Island, opposite Victoria (capital of Esquimalt) and in 1859 Rear Admiral Baynes, C-in-C of the Pacific Fleet, recommended coastal defence batteries be built. Esquimalt became the major base for the British Pacific Fleet, but no shore batteries were built.
In 1866 Vancouver Island and British Columbia were untied as British Columbia and in 1871 joined the Canadian Confederation. In 1877 Esquimalt was first designated as a coaling station, and it was listed as the eighth most important in the British Empire. At this stage, no coastal batteries were built. It was not until 1878 with a new Anglo-Russian in the Balkans, that the ‘Russian Scare’ came to the fore. Four emergency batteries were built, all with earthen ramparts, two at Victoria and two at Esquimalt. In 1887 a further battery was added to the Esquimalt defences. These first batteries primarily mounted RML guns and came about after a report completed by Lieutenant-Colonel De La Chevois T. Irwin in 1878. He spent time in Esquimalt and oversaw the redeployment of guns to four new batteries, for example two 64-pdr Palliser converted guns were removed from the Drill Shed in Victoria and placed in Finlayson Point Battery. The building of the battery, made from earth and timber, took only ten days, showing the urgency of this work and the simple construction. All the guns were mounted en barbette on terraces with wooden platforms. All the batteries were completed within three months. These ’emergency’ or temporary batteries built were as follows:

